Scan results.

Apparently, the MRI scan we had at the hospital showed an 8mm cyst with blood filling it. That may or may not be a problem, depending on what the reason for the cyst was. Sometimes that does happen, but the doctor also mentioned that endometriosis presents with chocolate cysts. 

We are exhausted. There was nothing else on the scan, but the hospital is busy trying to find an answer to my pain. They’re much less linear about things than the NHS was. They’re holding an endometriosis meeting on Monday, I think, and they will discuss my case and figure out where to go from here. I will be involved in decision making as well, they’re going to ring me and tell me what they want to do next.

I only remember receiving this level of care when I was a tiny child, in the UK. Since then, the NHS has been so stripped of funding that it doesn’t matter if you have cancer, you’re still put on a giant waiting list.

However… Not finding anything obvious on the MRI is just another blow to our confidence. We’re tired of getting no answers. We are very pleased to be living in the Netherlands, because none of this would be happening with the NHS. 

The Dutch healthcare system actually treats you like a person. When I (27) cried in an NHS appointment, they got exasperated and told me to calm down, there was nothing they could do, did I consider the pain being anxiety? Here, when I cried in yesterday’s appointment, the doctor understood that I was at the end of my rope and worn out from all the pain. Their attitude is completely different. 

The election results in the UK have upset us, too. A Tory/DUP coalition would force us to stay in the Netherlands. There would be no hope of going home because both parties are so anti-women, anti-gay, anti-europe that it would take many years for the UK to recover from the damage done by them. I am so not excited about Britain’s future.
We are holding on, but only just.
Love, 27 x

2 comments on “Scan results.

  1. manyofus1980 says:

    hi 27 i am glad your holding on. keep going, dont give up you are worth so much and i know the pain is hard to live with but there will be answers eventually. stay strong, sending hugs and love to you all, ❤ xoxoxoxo carol anne

Leave a Reply

