Reblog: I’m finally 18! Here’s what I’ve learned

These are brilliant life lessons. Not my post originally!

WaveringParisian

Having suffered from anxiety and depression for so long, I NEVER thought I’d make it to my 18th birthday. Suicide was always on my mind or I always thought that my father would end my life before it. But here I am! Healthy and feeling grateful to be alive.
So I thought I’d share with you 18 things I’ve learned in my 18 years of living:

  1.  Speak to yourself as you would speak to your best friend
    When I recognised how horribly I was critiquing myself in my head constantly, it shocked me. I thought, if I’d never speak to my friends like that then why I would I speak to myself like that?
  2. Rejection isn’t always personal
    When I confessed to my crush  that I liked him, he rejected me. Not because there was something wrong with me, but because he wanted to focus on his career instead of than love at this time…

View original post 796 more words

6 comments on “Reblog: I’m finally 18! Here’s what I’ve learned

  1. manyofus1980 says:

    my blogs gone private. would still love you to be able to read it. go here to request access. http://therapybits.com./ once i approve you you’ll need to go back into the site and hit the follow button to recieve posts via email. xx

  2. dazedandlost says:

    I am so glad you made 18. Way to go. You have already defeated half your demons. I know how hard it is to have to face your demons and live to tell about it. And WOOHOO here you are not only talking but reasons to celebrate. YEEEESSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!

    • This was written by someone who has turned 18, I turned 18 a while ago. I truly believe that what she learned is amazing. I’m still shocked I made it to 18 though, so thank you 🙂 x

      • dazedandlost says:

        awesome 18 is a good age and I hope you experience it well. Keep writing. Sorry I am late to reply but I have been doing a lot of writing and it sometimes takes an emotional toll on me. Buy I am glad for you

      • I wouldn’t say I had defeated any of my demons yet- I feel like I smash them down, only for them to come back. I turned 18 years ago, but I wish I could go back in time and fix my life back then. Hope you’re ok x

      • dazedandlost says:

        I am. And feeling much stronger with each time u see my psychiatrist. I know I have gotten a lot stronger the past few years

Leave a Reply

