Biphobia. (Possible TW: sexuality discussed)

I am bisexual. I am also so far in the closet about it I may as well be in Narnia.

I have tried to come out to friends- it was a phase. I have tried to come out to my parents: A horrible, horrible mess. I have tried to come out to various LGBT people- mixed reactions, not good on the whole. I’ve been told to ‘be more lesbian’, and other hurtful things.

Being bisexual forced me to believe I was evil and a sinner. Being bisexual has made me invisible. Being bisexual is upsetting, confusing and hurtful… It’s a good job that I love men and women so much and I can deal with it…

 

Or can I?

I agree so much with this argument in the article. I’m beginning to see that it’s been other factors that brought me to my knees, so I was easy prey.

 

http://www.theestablishment.co/2016/02/03/bisexuality-invisibility-lgbtq/

6 comments on “Biphobia. (Possible TW: sexuality discussed)

  1. TradeRoutz livingStyle says:

    As far as I’m concerned, the world is so full of hypocrites you should carry on and enjoy yourself and not give a flying F**k what ‘they’ have to say.

    For example: it’s fine for Miley cyrus to push her butt into whatever man is singing on stage with her, it’s fine for Kim Kardashian to go to the Oscars half dressed showing off her ;um’ assets, it’s fine to go to the beach in most countries topless or indeed totally nude, and men with ‘boners’ can show them off proudly. That’s not frowned upon, all of that crap is accepted! When Madonna openly kissed Britney Spears on stage at the Oscars, that was deemed as ‘funny’ and accepted! Now they have a picture of Kayne West, kissing himself, (photoshopped obviously to make the image possible, it’s gross), and they’ve even hung it outside a restaurant. It’s seriously just disgusting.

    So screw ’em. Be who you are, and if they don’t like it, tell them to stuff off, and let your lover make you feel better. Bloody hypocrites out there make me sick! Those that really love you for WHO you are, will stick by your side and love you anyway.

  2. Leslie says:

    Interesting article. Personally, I have always thought that bisexuals have it right. It’s true unconditional love. The world is a fucked up place. I agree with Trade. Anyone who doesn’t like it can stuff it. The only way that you can move towards happiness is to be yourself, do what makes you happy and not worry about what the masses say. The masses are stupid.

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic says:

    I think it is important that you be true to yourself. Kudos to you if you have the capacity to love any gender equally and impartially.

    I always found it to be ironic (actually quite hypocritical) to “fight” for acceptance of their lifestyle but yet be so intolerant of others.

    • Thank you very much 😊 I’m trying to learn to ignore the hate. The other thing I need to do is remember that there are decent people out there who support bisexuals 😊

Leave a Reply

