Life, and not getting what you want.

I think I’m in danger of causing rifts in my family.

I’ve achieved something today. I asked to do more of something and none of something else, and I’m paying for it.

This time, I feel like I’m awful.

I have upset my sister so much she’s no longer speaking to me. It’s like I don’t exist. I have tried to be everything to everyone, and I’ve hurt her in the process.

I have quit dancing as a career properly today. I decided I was shutting that door and moving on. As a result, I’ve dropped out of all the dance classes I was dancing in for more time to actually do my work on the massage qualification I’m desperately trying to get.

My sister is furious.

She wanted to joint-run a dance company with me, but since I haven’t been well again I’ve been re-evaluating things in my life that continue to hurt me. I have decided that dancing as a career is one of them. This, of course, puts paid to the joint company, and I’ve really hurt her by that.

The problem is, I’ve had enough of the dance world. Looking at my pointe shoes was starting to make me upset. I hurt so badly some night when I finish dancing because of my back, but sometimes also because I hate being in the dance studio all day, every day again. I loved it when my body was whole and did anything I told it to. Now I hate it because I hate that my leg will not lift at the back. I hate it because I have a TWO YEAR gap in my CV which will make all the professional dance companies out there laugh if I ever was to hand it in. The dance world is harsh and brutal and nobody cares if you get injured, because it means it was your fault and you were never good enough anyway, because a REAL dancer will never get injured because they’re too clever for all that.

My sis hasn’t faced quite everything I’ve faced yet in the dance world, although she knows just as much as I do how horribly cruel and unforgiving it can be. What she doesn’t understand yet is what it feels like to have no drive or passion for something you once loved dearly.

I hate the sight of the studios now. I hate my figure in the mirror, making shapes that aren’t what they used to be. My feet and legs look awkward and clumsy to me, and I hate how much effort I have to put into simple steps.

She will hopefully never feel like this. I never want her to feel this way. To hate the art that once nurtured you, to hate it so much you never want to dance or teach dancing again- that’s agony worse than a broken back.

What I have to do now is explain that to her, and hope that her hurt lifts. I don’t want to push her away even more with my idiocy, and my terror of telling the truth.

The reason I’m terrified of telling the truth?

Every time I did, my ex would push me away into a nowhere-state, filled with silence. That was worse that the other way it could go, which was rage. Give me the rage any time.

Right now, this silence could drown out the whole world.

7 comments on “Life, and not getting what you want.

  1. That sounds like a very difficult situation. I think it’s good, though, that you’re listening to and honoring your own needs. Those are just as important as your sister’s.

    • Thank you. I feel like my own needs are unimportant a lot because of how my ex treated me, so I feel like the only person who can be miserable is me. I’m trying to get used to being able to be assertive and it’s scary. X

  2. I just wanted to leave a note to let you know that you are not alone. You and I have a lot in common, and if you want to know more about my story, just ask. I just can relate, and wanted to tell you it gets better, especially if you have a good support system, like you seem to have. Hang in there!

    • Thank you so much for this comment. I have managed to make it up with my sister but I think that she is still upset about it. I’m glad that Im being more assertive, though. I’m feeling happier about things already. Thank you for your support, so much xx

  3. bdlheart says:

    I left a job of ten years a week ago. I’m sad to not work with my students anymore, but I ended up at a point where work was triggering PTSD, further debilitating me mentally and physically. So I get how we have to stop and take care of ourselves. It is okay to do that. It took a long time to get to this point because I wanted to hold myself responsible for everyone’s happiness and Ignore my own needs.

Leave a Reply

