Sociopath and faking religion to abuse victim

Well doesn’t this just explain everything.
My ex told me and my best girl friend at the time we were all angels sent to prevent the antichrist, and save the people of God. The cult-like atmosphere of our secret destroyed my friend B’s sanity and her faith, as it destroyed my faith. He let me continue to believe in my delusion for another year after creating it, at which point I confronted him about it.
He told me he had been waiting for me to come out of it, that he was letting me down gently. Right. Sure. Leaving me delusional and cracking down the middle- between faith and reason- was letting me down gently?
I am to this day frightened and suspicious of religion. I will never go back to its smothering grasp. The feelings of guilt and betrayal I permanently had whilst worshipping are not worth the sense of complete freedom I have now.
What I do have now is a huge understanding as to why he did this to me: why he eviscerated my belief system and left me to bleed out. I understand that I am not to blame for his machinations- but, in turn, the church wasn’t either. He foisted the blame upon them and pretended hardcore atheism- I followed, bitter, resentful and hurt.
Imagine the anger when, as we broke up for the last time, he told me to ‘trust in Jesus, despite us having a weird relationship with him,’ ? I was livid later when I realised what he was saying. He was telling me that I was to blame for the way I’d taken all his lies, and I was to blame for believing his spiel about atheism. I believe now is a pantheon, but that is beside the point. The point here is that he DID manipulate me through religion too, causing massive internal scarring.
I feel vindicated and excited that I know this- another tool in my recovery war against him.

Dating a Sociopath

When someone ‘fakes’ sharing your faith, it can shake your own beliefs, it can tarnish something that you perceive as ‘holy’ and special. It can attack the inner core of you. It can feel the equivalent of ’emotional rape’

Mirroring your religious beliefs to abuse, is a common manipulation tool for the sociopath Mirroring your religious beliefs to abuse, is a common manipulation tool for the sociopath

Why do sociopath’s attach themselves to religion?

There are many different ways that a sociopath can attach themselves to religion. The first is through dating. If you recall, I wrote earlier how the first thing that the sociopath does is to:

Assess you

If you meet a sociopath and you are either a) strong in your religious faith or b) grieving, the sociopath will quickly learn this about you.  The sociopath will then use all that they have learned about you in assessment stage, to target you, and ….

seduce you. 

The sociopath might have no connection…

View original post 794 more words

2 comments on “Sociopath and faking religion to abuse victim

  1. Thanks. i just reblogged the original.

Leave a Reply

