Fed up.

Today, I talked to a friend, D, who suffers from mental health issues of his own. He is currently undergoing therapy for his problem, and for some reason, today we ended up talking about the mental health services, and how different our experiences have been.

He had a huge wait for therapy, but after he moved, he was able to access therapy very quickly. He has regular sessions, and he says that they are helping him a great deal. He is also taking an antipsychotic, but it seems to be helping him to relax, and he says he hasn’t seen any of the side effects that can occasionally manifest.

He also said he thought that I hadn’t got the right people helping me, which I completely agree with.

So far, I am STILL waiting for regular therapy. I have had NO HELP managing my symptoms. I had to stop cutting by myself. I still have panic attacks, and the antidepressant I am taking has only helped me feel a little more balanced. I have still felt suicidal on it, and if I forget to take it, I suffer chronic headaches which make my jaw lock.

I have been prescribed an antipsychotic which I am not going to take because I can’t afford to see if I will gain weight on it- I’m a dancer, and my stupid judgemental peers will never hire me if I am the wrong shape. Personally, I enjoy being fit, and I don’t want to be any more lethargic than I already am.
I still have no diagnosis after seeing three psychiatrists and a CPN. I saw a psychologist for four sessions, and I know I need more because that was what helped.

I am slowly coming to the conclusion that the mental health services actually don’t care that I hear voices, that I have a history of suicidal thoughts and attempts, of self harm, of emotional and sexual abuse. I think I am yet another unsolvable problem to them and that I will never get the help or answers I need. You may say that’s paranoia, but I am at heart willing to believe the best of people. So far all I have seen is that the mental health professionals I have seen just don’t have a clue what to do with me, and some of them don’t care.

Despite the mental health assessment going well on the 23rd December, it’s now the 9th Jan and I still don’t have a follow up appointment or a referral to their psychologist, something they both promised me I could have.

Stop bullshitting me, please. If you don’t want to fix me just say so, and I will continue to try and fix myself. So far I’m not doing to well with that- I had another panic attack on the tube yesterday. I see my ex wherever I go in London. I am terrified he will find this blog and I will lose you all.

I suppose my big question is this- what happens next? When do I get help?!

I am beginning to fear that the answer is never.

The good news is that my awesome friend D is going to give me the number of the mental health team who look after him. Maybe then I will get some answers, and they might help me like they have helped D.

I hope.

5 comments on “Fed up.

  1. Rebekah L says:

    Hold on! Never never never give up. Help is out there. I am praying for you.

  2. Valerie says:

    I hope you are able to find help soon, keep trying to look into different therapists and such. Don’t give up 🙂
    http://hopeinhealingblog.wordpress.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/hopeinhealingwordpressblog?ref=hl

  3. Sorry to hear you’re still not getting the help you need. I just had a thought- while waiting a long time for a psychiatrist, I was able to work with a student psychologist on a weekly basis. It was really helpful because she already had a masters, but I got a discount (came to $10 per session after insurance) and was therefore able to get a lot more therapy than I could afford. Now I get free counselling at my clinic, but only every three weeks or so. Enough for now, but certainly not for the time of my breakdown.
    Anyways, all that to say, maybe psychology departments at local universities may also be of help?
    Take care! xx

  4. jenniferalice123 says:

    Good luck, I am in the same rotten position of not getting the right help either! I’ve heard though that the Samaritans can provide counselling and you usually have a better chance the more populated the area you are in. Hope you get the help you need soon. x

Leave a Reply

